President Obama Honors Outstanding Science, Math and Engineering Mentors - Higher Education

Higher Education News and Jobs

President Obama Honors Outstanding Science, Math and Engineering Mentors


by Diverse Staff

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Nine individuals and eight organizations were named recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring. The mentors will receive their awards at a White House ceremony later this year.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring, awarded by the White House to individuals and organizations, recognizes the crucial role that mentoring plays in the academic and personal development of students studying science and engineering, particularly those who belong to groups that are underrepresented in these fields.

“Through their commitment to education and innovation, these individuals and organizations are playing a crucial role in the development of our 21st century workforce,” President Obama said. 

Candidates for the award are nominated by colleagues, administrators, and students in their home institutions.  The mentoring can involve students at any grade level from elementary through graduate school. In addition to being honored at the White House, recipients receive awards of $25,000 from the National Science Foundation to advance their mentoring efforts. The mentors and organizations announced today represent the winners for 2010 and 2011.

Selected as a 2011 Mentor, Clemson University computer science professor Juan E. Gilbert was named a 2002 Emerging Scholar by Black Issues In Higher Education, the predecessor to Diverse.

Gilbert is chairman of the College of Engineering and Science’s Human-Centered Computing Division, which seeks to develop computing solutions to real-world problems and to understand how computer technologies affect society. His team conducts research into such applications as electronic voting, workforce development, voice-texting and instructional technologies.
“I’m humbled to have been selected for this award and very pleased for the recognition it gives the students in the Human-Centered Computing Division,” Gilbert said. “We take the ‘human-centered’ aspect of our work very seriously. It’s their achievement that is truly being honored here.”

Related:  Just the Stats: Higher Education Base Salaries Barely Outpacing Inflation


Solomon Bililign, North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University, Greensboro, N.C.

          Peggy Cebe, Tufts University, Medford, Mass.

          Roy Clarke, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.

          Amelito Enriquez, Cañada College, Redwood City, Calif.

          Karen Panetta, Tufts University, Medford, Mass.

          ACE Mentor Program of America, Stamford, Conn.

          Ocean Discovery Institute, San Diego, Calif.

Women’s Health Science Program for High School Girls and Beyond, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, Ill.


          Winston Anderson, Howard University, Washington, D.C.

          Juan E. Gilbert, Clemson University, Clemson, S.C.

          Shaik Jeelani, Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, Ala.

          Andrew Tsin, University of Texas at San Antonio, Texas

          Camp Reach, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, Mass.

          Diversity Programs in Engineering, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

The Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute, Arizona State University, Tempe, Ariz.

The Stanford Medical Youth Science Program, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

University of California San Francisco Science & Health Education Partnership High School Intern Program, San Francisco, Calif.

Professors’ Group Votes to Sanction University of Iowa IOWA CITY, Iowa ― A national group of professors has voted unanimously to sanction the University of Iowa for the way the school hired its new president. The Iowa City Press-Citizen reports that the century-old American Association of University P...
CUNY’s Frank Sanchez Named President of Rhode Island College WARWICK, R.I. ― Rhode Island College has a new president. Frank Sanchez, vice chancellor for student affairs at the City University of New York, was named Rhode Island College’s 10th president after a vote Wednesday by the Council on Postsecondary...
Regents Approve Early Retirement for Embattled Chancellor LAS VEGAS ― Nevada higher education regents approved an early retirement deal Thursday for Chancellor Dan Klaich after he said his role in developing a new college funding formula with lawmakers a few years ago has become a distraction. Regents po...
Watanabe Dedicates Career to the Advancement of Asian Americans Dr. Paul Watanabe (courtesy of U.S.-Japan Council) Growing up, Dr. Paul Watanabe saw few people of his ancestry in U.S. professions outside of wage-earning jobs. Tens of thousands of Japanese-Americans, including his parents, had been herded i...
Semantic Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *