Announcing the 2019 Dr. John Hope Franklin Award Winners - Higher Education
Higher Education News and Jobs

Announcing the 2019 Dr. John Hope Franklin Award Winners


Diverse is pleased to announce the names of the two distinguished recipients of the 2019 Dr. John Hope Franklin Award. Dr. Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, one of the nation’s most prominent historians, is the Victor S. Thomas Professor of History and African and African American Studies at Harvard University. She has been a tenured faculty member at Harvard since 1993, and chaired the Department of African and African Americans Studies from 2006-2013.

Dr. Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham


Dr. Michael T. Nettles is nationally recognized as a top policy researcher on educational assessment, student performance and achievement and educational equity. In August 2014 President Barack Obama appointed Nettles to the President’s Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for African Americans. He was also appointed by two U.S. Secretaries of Education to serve on the National Assessment Governing Board (NAGB), which oversees and develops policies for the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP).

Dr. Michael T. Nettles

Past recipients have included Dr. Clifton Wharton, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Dr. Maya Angelou, the late Dr. William Friday and Dr. Johnnetta B. Cole.

This is the 15th time Diverse has presented this prestigious award, created with the support of Dr. Franklin, to recognize individuals for their contributions to higher education. This year’s award will be presented on March 11, 2019 during the 101st centennial meeting of the American Council on Education (ACE) in Philadelphia, Pa.

ASALH Black History Celebration Highlights Black Migration WASHINGTON – The Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) celebrated its 93rd annual Black History Month luncheon by spotlighting the mass migrations of Black people and how those experiences have helped shape their iden...
AAUP Begins Investigation of Vermont Law School The American Association of University Professors (AAUP) has began an investigation of Vermont Law School for alleged violations of newly-restructured shared governance in its faculty, lowering salaries, reducing its full-time faculty size and removi...
ACE Study Outlines Best Practices in Campus Racial Crises Active listening, speaking from the heart and being attuned to campus context were several critical takeaways of a new study by the American Council on Education’s (ACE) Center for Policy Research and Strategy which focused on how to deal with racial...
At ASALH, Historian Tells Story of Fugitive Slave INDIANAPOLIS — In 1796, a slave name Ona Judge took on the "most powerful man" in the nation, when she escaped from bondage and pursued her freedom "at any cost," said Dr. Erica Armstrong Dunbar, the Charles and Mary Beard Professor of History at Rut...
Semantic Tags: